Bryn Mawr College Graduate School of Social Work and Social Research Launches Centennial Celebrations and Presents 2015 Alumni Awards

Posted May 14th, 2015 at 3:25 pm.

From left: Pat Burland, Allyson Schwartz, MSS ’72, Congressman Chaka Fattah, Dean Darlyne Bailey,Tawana Ford Sabbath, MSS ‘71, PhD ‘86, Bryn Mawr President Kim Cassidy

From left: Patricia Burland, MSS ’56; Allyson Schwartz, MSS ’72; Congressman Chaka Fattah; Dean Darlyne Bailey; Tawana Ford Sabbath, MSS ’71, PhD ’86; Bryn Mawr President Kim Cassidy.

The Bryn Mawr College Graduate School of Social Work and Social Research recently launched its year-long 100th birthday celebrations at an on-campus reception for alumni, School and College administrators and faculty, students, and visiting public officials including Congressman Chaka Fattah, Katie Morton, who represented State Senator Daylin Leach, and Mike Bettinger, chief of staff to State Representative Tim Briggs.

Bryn Mawr College President Kim Cassidy praised the School’s history of innovation and continued excellence of its professional social work education, as well as the impressive legacy of its 4,480 graduates. “They have greatly improved the health and well-being of individuals, families, communities, and organizations throughout the Greater Philadelphia Region, across the nation, and around the globe,” she said.

Congressman Fattah (D-PA2) thanked his social worker audience for their many years of service and for “saving lives others would have discarded, dismissed, or ignored.” Looking forward to the next 100 years, he said, “The work is not done. The future will require bold action and strong leadership to heal our communities that have been crippled by hopelessness and despair. We will need social workers more than ever.”

Social Work School Dean Darlyne Bailey presented the School’s coveted 2015 Alumni Awardees to three distinguished graduates, saying, “After hearing even briefly from these remarkable women, you will immediately understand why they are with us today and how, individually and collectively, they reflect the power of our profession”:

  • The Honorable Allyson Schwartz, MSS ’72, Former Member of Congress, for Lifetime Achievement;
  • Tawana Ford Sabbath, MSS ‘71, PhD ‘86, Community Elder, Clinician and Professor, for Distinguished Service; and
  • Judith Kasser, MSS ‘65, Founder, PA Society for Clinical Social Work, for Distinguished Service (Posthumous), accepted by Pat Burland of the Society.

For an online history and timeline of the School and photos of past Directors and Deans, go to:

Comments are closed.