Leadership Working Group Formed to Lead Search for Next BMC President

Posted October 16th, 2013 at 2:54 pm.

The following email was sent to faculty, students, and staff by Secretary of the College Ruth Lindeborg on behalf of Trustee Leadership Working Group Chair Ann Logan ’76 and Vice Chair Patrick McCarthy, Ph.D. ’81, on Monday, Oct. 7.

To members of the Bryn Mawr community:

The Board of Trustees of Bryn Mawr College has formed a Leadership Working Group (LWG).  The Group’s charge is to recommend to the Board of Trustees a candidate to become the next President of Bryn Mawr.

The Group is broadly representative of the Bryn Mawr community and includes seven trustees (one of whom is the President of the Alumnae Association), four members of the faculty, a member of the staff, one undergraduate student, one graduate student, and a representative from Haverford College’s Board of Managers. A list of the working group members is attached.  The Chair of the Board of Trustees also serves as an ex officio member of the Group.  Ann Logan will serve as Chair and Patrick McCarthy as Vice Chair.  The seven trustee members are all alumnae/i of the undergraduate or graduate schools of Bryn Mawr.

The Group met for the first time on October 5.  In the coming weeks members of the working group will be asking for your input on various topics including your views on the College’s strengths and challenges, and the attributes needed in the next president of Bryn Mawr given its history, challenges, strengths, and strategy.

Your input will help shape the presidential position description, which includes background on the College, particular opportunities and challenges for Bryn Mawr in the next 5+ years, and the qualities we seek in the next president.  This position description will be a public document available to the entire campus community.  Community input will also help determine the process we should follow to recommend a candidate to the Board.

We are eager to begin these discussions with you and are open to your thoughts and input at any time.   If you have any questions or thoughts that you would like to share with the Working Group you may contact us through our chair, Ann Logan at leadership@brynmawr.edu

The Working Group’s recommendation and the Board of Trustees’ decision about the next leader of Bryn Mawr is an important one and critical to the future of the College.  We are grateful for the leadership of Interim President Kim Cassidy, the strong faculty and staff at Bryn Mawr, and the terrific undergraduate and graduate students who make the College such a special place. Thank you for your ongoing engagement and support.

Best regards,

Ann Logan ’76, Chair

Patrick McCarthy, Ph.D. ’81, Vice Chair


Comments are closed.