Reunion 2012 in Pictures

Posted June 5th, 2012 at 4:56 pm.

The Bryn Mawr Alumnae Association welcomed nearly 1,000 guests to campus on May 25-27 for Reunion 2012. Alumnae of the ’70s joined graduating classes of years ending in two and seven. See the slideshow above or on Flickr for a pictorial tour of the weekend.

Reunion 2012 offered a variety of activities for personal, professional, and intellectual enrichment. Former U.S. Senator Harris Wofford, president of Bryn Mawr from 1970-78 and co-founder of the Peace Corps, led a panel of alumnae who served in the corps. Distinguished economist Alice Rivlin ’52 spoke on the economic challenges facing the U.S. and her outlook for the future. And a panel of “trailblazing” alumnae discussed their pioneering paths in the fields of law, geology, technology, and finance. Other panels and lectures touched on topics as varied as making the most of life after 50, career transitions, and African American culinary  history. Mawrters also celebrated timeless campus traditions, such as Step Sing, and enjoyed brand new events, including a food and wine festival and a “Saturday Night Fever” dance party.

The weekend culminated with the traditional Parade of Classes. Perched on the back of a convertible, Betty VanNewkirk ’36, the oldest alumna present, Eileen P. Kavanagh ’75, president of the Alumnae Association, and Jane McAuliffe, president of Bryn Mawr, brought up the rear of the parade.

During the annual meeting of the Alumnae Association, Cara Petonic ’07 was honored with the Young Alumna Service Award, Denise Hurley ’82 received the Distinguished Alumna Service Award, and Jocelyn Gutchess ’42 accepted the Lifetime of Service Award.

As of May 27, 2012, Reunion classes had raised $1,239,527 for the 2012 Annual Fund. This accounts for 25 percent of overall Annual Fund dollars raised. The Class of 1962 was presented with the Maisie Hardenbergh Dethier ’43 Award for Highest Annual Fund Participation and the Ellenor Morris ’27 Award for the Highest Annual Fund Total with, respectively, 83 percent participation and a gift total of $250,741. The effort was chaired by Nan Jamieson Lowerre and Barbara Schieffelin Powell. The Class of 2007 was presented with the Barbara Auchincloss Thacher ’40 Award for Greatest Improvement in Annual Fund Participation Among the Ten Most Recent Classes with an increase in participation from 23 percent to 32 percent. The effort was chaired by Metisse Zahler.

Comments are closed.