2011 Staff Awards Presented at Picnic

Posted June 9th, 2011 at 1:13 pm.

The 2011 Staff Award Recepients and President McAuliffe. George Williams, President McAuliffe, Ann Ogle, Karen Sulpizio, and Chuck Heyduk (from left to right)

The 2011 Staff Award Recipients and President Jane McAuliffe. George Williams, Jane McAuliffe, Ann Ogle, Karen Sulpizio, and Chuck Heyduk (from left to right)

President Jane McAuliffe and Human Resources Director Joe Bucci presented the 2011 McPherson Awards for Excellence and Service to three members of the College’s staff at the staff-appreciation picnic earlier this month. A fourth staff member was recognized for environmental stewardship with the Newberry Award.

The McPherson Awards:

Charles “Chuck” Heyduk, associate dean, Undergraduate College, won the award in the administrative/professional category. One of Heyduk’s nominators wrote: “Because of his warmth, compassion, and student-centered advising style, Chuck is beloved by his advisees. Chuck truly cares about all of our students. With over 25 years of service to the community, Chuck has shown over and over again his commitment and service to the entire Bryn Mawr community.”

George Williams of Dinning Services won the award in the service/craft category. Nominators wrote of Williams, “George always displays a wonderful attitude and work ethic. He consistently does whatever is needed—from training student employees in the Dish Room to driving the delivery van during alumni weekend—he does it all with a smile and that is the true reason he deserves this award.”

Karen Sulpizio, administrative assistant for the social-sciences departments, received the award in the clerical/technical category. “Karen Sulpizio brings a tremendous administrative knowledge to the Bryn Mawr community. Training people, supporting faculty, explaining complicated rules, Karen does it all with splendid efficiency and a wonderful spirit,” wrote a nominator.

The Newberry Award

Administrative Assistant for the Psychology and Education departments Ann Ogle received the Newberry Award. Ogle was a member of the committee that drafted the College’s Green Plan and the originator of the Newberry Award. She is also the driving force, planner and manager of the annual end-of-year sale of items left behind in the dorms by students in May, which provides funds for the award. “The sale has raised over $1,000 each year. At 25 cents per item, you can appreciate the volume of items involved,” wrote a nominator. “It is a huge undertaking and she does the bulk of the work on her own and on her own time and has been doing it for over ten years! It is just one more example of her dedication to the Green Plan, the Staff Association and the College.”

The College also recognized the following staff members for their years of service to the college:

35 Years Eileen Bazelon
30 Years Jerry Berenson, Diane Hoplamazian, Jane McGarry, Paul Vassallo
25 Years Arthur Taylor, Linda Taylor, Sally Allison
20 Years Eileen Cassidy, Berry Chamness, Madelaine Nathanson, Nancy Rassiga, Steven Sensenich, Regina Stead, Karen Wilcox
10 Years Nell Anderson, Moore Bartune, Stephanie Bell, Christine Dicioccio, Shanell Edwards, Jane Epstein, Ellie Esmond, Victoria Gerstenfeld, Claudia Ginanni, Helen Hamel, Marinanne Hansen, Deborah Harley, Annmarie Hofmann, Anna Kamstra, Lisa Kolonay, Melissa Cresswell, Susan Kraus, Anne Lydon, Catherine Poynton, Felicia Rivera, Pat Serpentine, Nancy Thaler, Peaches Valdes
5 Years Martina Balazova, Lorraine Ball, Isabelle Barker, Lisa Bethea, Syndi Bleiweis, Christine Boyland, Betsy Cancelliere, Mary Cataldi, Iliania Chaleva, Andrew Chiarello, Bryan Connor, Sara Dudley, Ibrahim Edwards, Lisa Flanagan, John Gavin, Matthew Gray, John Griffith, Michael Johnson, Lisa Kraus, Andrew Lacey, Wycliffe Laud, Jan Linowitz, Albert Love, Joseph Ludwig, Gwendolin Randolph, Kevin Williams, Julie Zona

Comments are closed.