Staff members honored at picnic

Posted July 1st, 2009 at 4:48 pm.

President Jane McAuliffe, McPherson Award winner Beth Iushewitz, and Human Resources Director Joe Bucci

President Jane McAuliffe, McPherson Award winner Beth Iushewitz, and Human Resources Director Joe Bucci

President Jane McAuliffe and Human Resources Director Joe Bucci presented the 2009 McPherson Awards for Excellence and Service to three members of the College’s staff at the staff-appreciation picnic in June.

Nell Anderson, co-director of the civic engagement office and director of Praxis and community partnership programs, won the award in the administrative/professional category. One of Anderson’s nominators wrote: “Her desire to support student learning, faculty teaching, and meet community needs drives her to continue seeking new opportunities that engage our campus with the community in creative and meaningful ways … Nell is an excellent mentor to both undergraduate and graduate students at Bryn Mawr. She takes students under her wing and provides the kind of encouragement and guidance that have helped many students find their way in life.”

Housekeeper Beth Iushewitz, who retired at the end of May after 13 years of service to Bryn Mawr, won the award in the service/craft category. Nominators wrote of Iushewitz that she “dedicated herself each and every day to making Bryn Mawr College a pleasant place to live and work” and was “a friend, confidant, counselor and surrogate grandmother” to students. Citing her strong work ethic, a student nominator wrote that Iushewitz “would not rest until the dorm sparkled with cleanliness.”

English department secretary Bryn Thompson, who also supports the Creative Writing Program, the Emily Balch Seminars, and the Writing Program, received the award in the clerical/technical category. A nominator wrote of Thompson: “The scope and impact of her work in this role exemplify the ideal of excellence in institutional service that the McPherson Award represents. It’s not just that Bryn anchors these programs gracefully but that she has steadily improved how the programs interact in ways that directly impact students as well as faculty.” Noting that her commitment to service extends well beyond her professional role, a nominator wrote, “She is active in the staff association, supportive of her colleagues in other departments, and a contributor to projects in the community and in her church.”

The College also recognized the following staff members for their years of service to the college:

35 Years Florence Goff
30 Years Charles Heyduk, Karen Tidmarsh
25 Years Diane Craw, Katherine Donner, Michael Hill, Kirsten O’Beirne, Barrington Smith, Nona Smith
20 Years Rodney Battle, Jodi Domsky, Karen Hickman, Robert Hudoka, Mark Newby, Ann Ogle, Catherine Pearlingi, Angela Reason, Lorett Treese, Kristine Twesme
10 Years Thomas Bergan, Mary Eldon, Wendy Greenfield, Cynthia Mack, Rosemary McNulty, John Moccero, Eric Pumroy, Matthew Rice, Angie Sheets, Arnita Stokes, Megan Ward
5 Years Robyn Barto, Michael Blanche, George Broomall, Dawn Bruton, Darnay Campbell, Raima Evan, Kim Folkes, Antonio Fuller, Margaret Graham, Reggie Jones, Tracy Kellmer, Nimisha Ladva, Richard Matthews, Nancy McCool, Michael Ramsey, Kathleen Schick, Marianna Scribner, William Stroman, Bryn Thompson, Zorka Vujaskovic

Comments are closed.