2009 academic awards to Bryn Mawr students

Posted May 15th, 2009 at 2:10 pm.

At May Day Convocation on Sunday, May 5, President Jane D. McAuliffe announced the winners of a host of awards given to Bryn Mawr students. The list of more than 50 awards and scholarships includes honors bestowed by Bryn Mawr as well as those given by outside organizations. The complete list of awards follows.

Fulbright Fellowship:
Maureen Hoffman ’09 of Bloomington, Ind.

Churchill Scholarship:
Jaclyn Lang ’09 of Longmont, Colo.

Beinecke Scholarship:
Nicole Gervasio ’10 of Trenton, N.J.

Watson Fellowship:
Gillian Grassie ’09 of Unionville, Pa.

NSF Fellowship:
Sarah Khasawinah ’09 of Alexandria, Va.

Academy of American Poets Poetry Prize for the best poem or group of poems:
Katherine Faigen ’09 of Bethesda, Md.
Honorable Mention:
Anna Mueser ’10 of Warner, N.H., and Sharanya Sharma ’11 of Rockville, Md.

Seymour Adelman Prize for book collecting:
First Prize: Anna VanBrookhoven ’09 of Hyde Park, N.Y.
Second Prize: Megan Clark ’11, of Coventry, Conn.; Jessica Schwartz ’09 of Mechanicsburg, Pa.

Seymour Adelman Poetry Award:
Elizabeth Walsh ’09 of Toppenish, Wash.
Honorable Mention: Nicole Gervasio  ’10 of Trenton, N.J.

Jane Wilkinson Arts Prize for outstanding contributions in the arts:
Caitlin Romasco ’09 of Gilbertsville, Pa., for dance

Bain-Swiggett Prize for the best single poem:
Nicole Gervasio  ’10 of Trenton, N.J.
Honorable Mention: Gillian Grassie ’09 of Uniondale, Pa.

Berle Memorial Prize in German Literature:
Sara Karpinski ’09 of King of Prussia, Pa.

Bolton Prize for excellence in the senior project in Growth and Structure of Cities:
Allison Reingold ’09 of Bethesda, Md.
Jessica Schwartz ’09 of Mechanicsburg, Pa.

Hester Ann Corner Prize for distinction in English literature:
Sarah Westbrook ’09 of Sudbury, Mass.

Hester Ann Corner Prize for distinction in French literature:
Mia Prensky  ’09 of Camp Hill, Pa.
Meera Seth ’09 of Dallas, Texas

Frederica de Laguna Award for a senior’s meritorious academic work in

Katelyn Coughlan ’09 of Wilmington, Del.

Katherine Fullerton Gerould Prize in Creative Writing:
Gillian Grassie  ’09 of Unionville, Pa.
Honorable Mention: Julia Lustick ’09 of Woodbridge, Conn.; Ellen Goodlett ’09 of Pittsburgh, Pa.

Anna L. Keys Memorial Prize in archaeology:
Emma Buckingham, Haverford College ’10, of Houston, Texas

Sheelah Kilroy Memorial Scholarship in English:
Nicole Gervasio ’10 of Trenton, N.J.

Richmond Lattimore Prize for poetic translation:
Stoyana Alexandrova ’11 of Los Alamos, N.M.
Amy Gordon ’09 of Reading, Pa.

Martha Barber Montgomery Prize for special projects in the humanities:
Mariel Wenk ’10 of Philadelphia, Pa.
Sarah Bechdel  ’10 of Altoona, Pa.

The Elinor Nahm Prizes:

In Elementary Italian:
Pamela Burt ’12 of Asuncion, Paraguay
Kathleen Nash ’12 of Mequon, Wisc.
Laura Needham ’12 of Walworth, N.Y.

In Intermediate Italian:
Allegra Fletcher ’12 of Dorchester, Mass.
Gretchen Knoth ’11 of Portland, Maine
Kelsey Lynch ’11 of Bloomington, Ind.
Lauren Poon ’09 of McLean, Va.
Meital Singer ’12 of Portland, Ore.

In Italian Language and Literature:
Jocelyn Nelson ’10 of Rhinebeck, N.Y.
Sofia Nitchie ’09 of Annapolis, Md.
Brooke Reid ’11 of Atlanta, Ga.

In Russian Language and Linguistics:
Hope Wilson, Haverford College ’09 of Novato, Calif.

In Russian Literature:
Isaac Wheeler, Haverford College ’10 of Osprey, Fla.

The Katherine Stains Prize in Classical literature:
Emily Olsen ’09 of Ridgewood, N.J.
Sarah Stefanski ’09 of East Amherst, N.Y.

Pauline Jones Prize in French:
Gabriela Kogut ’09 of Rockville, Md.

Elisabeth Packard Art and Archaeology Prize:
Sarah Meller ’09 of Sedona, Ariz.

Alexandra Peschka Prize for imaginative writing in prose:
Lauren Marie Smith ’12 of Dayton, Ohio
Honorable Mention: Margaret Ernst ’11 of Princeton, N.J.; Meredith Schorr ’11 of Wayne, Pa.

Gail Ann Schweiter Prize
Jaclyn Lang  ’09 of Longmont, Colo.

The Elizabeth Duane Gillespie Undergraduate Award:
Auguste Dutcher ’10 of Lancaster, Pa.

Charlotte Angas Scott Prize for excellence in mathematics:
Amanda Hittson ’09 of Anchorage, Alaska
Sarah Khasawinah  ’09  of Alexandria, Va.

Mary Louise Cookson Prize in mathematics:
Jaclyn Lang ’09 of Longmont, Colo.
Melania Macko ’09 of Hamburg, N.J.

Anna Pell Wheeler Prize for excellence in mathematics:
Jaclyn Lang ’09 of Longmont, Colo.

Anne Kirschbaum Winkelman Literary Prize for the most outstanding original short story:
Margaret Ernst ’11 of Princeton, N.J.
Honorable Mention: Devan Boyle ’10 of Madison, Conn.; Julia Lustick ’09 of Woodbridge, Conn.

The Dr. Hayley S. Thomas Prize in Diversity:
Stephanie Kearse-Gaston ’09 of Washington, D.C.
Margaret Larson ’10 of Portland, Ore.
Lucy Sung ’10 of Los Angeles, Calif.

Hanna Holborn Gray Fellowships:
Jillian Barndt ’10 of Philadelphia, Pa.
Ciara Bhattacharyya ’10 of Phoenix, Ariz.
Lauren Black ’10 of Delaware, Ohio
Rachel Carpenter ’11 of Shickshinny, Pa.
Shira Cohen ’10 of Moorestown, N.J.
Rachel Corey ’10, of Waltham, Mass.
Nicole Kurtz ’10 of Milton, Pa.
Margaret Larson ’10 of Portland, Ore.
Marybeth Matlack ’10 of Stanhope, N.J.
Evan McGonagill ’10 of Brookline, Mass.
Akua Nyame-Mensah ’10 of Baltimore, Md.
Ean Oesterle ’10 , McBride Scholar, of Philadelphia, Pa.
Dominique Toten ’10 of Toronto, Canada
Di Wang  ’10 of Changsha Hunan, China

Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowships:
Azsherae Gary ’11 of Philadelphia, Pa.
Rodline Louijeune ’11 of Boston, Mass.
Felicia Meekins, McBride Scholar, of Sellersville, Pa.
Jennifer Pierre ’11 of Roslindale, Mass.
Katherine Sepulveda ’11 of Raymond, Maine

Thomas Raeburn White Scholarship for summer language study abroad:
Miranda Bennett ’10 of Keswick, Va.

Mary Patterson McPherson Fund for Outstanding Community Service:
Kathy Huynh ’09 of Oakland, Calif.
Katherine Kellom ’09 of Haddonfield, N.J.
Jessica Schwartz ’09 of Mechanicsburg, Pa.

Maria L. Eastman Brooke Hall Memorial Scholarship (awarded to the member of the junior class with highest average):
Yuan Qiao ’10 of Shijiazhuang, China

The Elizabeth S. Shippen Scholarship in Science:
Evan Schneider ’10 of Lynchburg, Va.

The Elizabeth S. Shippen Scholarship in Language:
Allegra Garabedian ’10 of Scarborough, Maine

Charles S. Hinchman Scholarship (given to a member of the junior class for work of special excellence in her major subject):
Yuan Qiao ’10 of Shijiazhuang, China

Comments are closed.