Mural Arts Director Jane Golden Awarded Hepburn Medal

Posted February 11th, 2009 at 5:39 pm.

Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter, Jane Golden and Jane McAuliffe

Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter, Jane Golden, and Jane McAuliffe

“I’m Mike Nutter and I work for Jane Golden,” Philadelphia’s mayor said on Saturday night.

But it wasn’t work that brought Nutter and hundreds of others to the National Constitution Center that evening.

Nutter, Bryn Mawr President Jane McAuliffe, and a host of  luminaries were on hand to honor Golden, executive director of the Philadelphia Mural Arts Program, with the 2009 Katherine Hepburn Medal in recognition of her tireless efforts to build community through public art, engage at-risk youth, beautify the city, and work toward social justice.

“Jane exemplifies the type of purposeful life that shapes the Hepburn Center’s mission,” McAuliffe said in presenting the award. “Where others see walls, graffiti, scribbled words of violence, and the marks of crime, she sees pure potential.”

The Katharine Houghton Hepburn Center at Bryn Mawr College is the only organization authorized by the Hepburn estate to commemorate the lives and achievements of iconic screen legend Katharine Hepburn, Bryn Mawr class of 1928, and her mother, Katharine Houghton Hepburn, Bryn Mawr class of 1900, an activist for reproductive rights and women’s suffrage.

The Hepburn Medal honors women whose lives and work embody the intelligence, drive, and independence of the four-time Oscar winner. Award recipients are chosen for their commitment and contributions to the Hepburn women’s greatest passions—film and theater, civic engagement ,and women’s health. The award was first given in 2006, in the area of film and theater, to renowned actresses Lauren Bacall and Blythe Danner.

“I am deeply honored to have my work and the work of the Mural Arts Program recognized in the spirit of the great Katharine Hepburn—because Ms. Hepburn was not only a great actor. She was a remarkable woman—years ahead of her time,” said Golden in accepting the award.

Lynn Yeakel, director of Drexel University College of Medicine’s Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership and the Betty A. Cohen Chair in Women’s Health, served as master of ceremonies for the event.

Additional photos from the event can be seen on Philadelphia Magazine’s Web site .

Comments are closed.